Photography Job Scam on Craigslist!!!


So I graduated from UNLV in December and wanted to start my career in photography with some small stuff to build me resume.

I went job hunting on craigslist and found a great job!!!

The link to the job looked like this:

http://lasvegas.craigslist.org/csr/1570440769.html

So beware. It think it’s sad that the last two blogs have been about assholes!

She is good though. Sara Russell, is the name she goes by, and she sends you a link for a credit report and thats how she gets your info. So don’t be fooled!

Here is the copy of her email, so that my readers don’t think all my blogs are a bunch of bull.

Bravework Staffing Agency is what she calls her “business for 11 years”

I’m telling you, these people are taking over the internet!

RE: Preschool Photographers‏
From: Sonja Corliss
Sent: Tue 1/26/10 11:17 PM
To: srussell@braveworkstaffing.com
Hello Sara,

I got a hold of my credit report and score and copy pasted it to a word document just because I do not have a printer at home with ink in it.  If you could just let me know where I can meet you Thursday morning, I will be happy to arrive!

-Sonja

> From: srussell@braveworkstaffing.com
> To: Sonja Corliss
> Subject: RE: Preschool Photographers
> Date: Mon, 25 Jan 2010 21:00:11 -0800
>
> Hello Sonja,
>
> It is great to hear back from you so quickly, the promptness is greatly appreciated.
>
> Based on your responses and credentials I would like the opportunity to personally interview you later this week or early next week. I am available this week Wednesday to Friday from 9am to 4pm, and Monday to Wednesday of next week from 9am to 4pm, would any of these times work for you?
>
> I would like you to bring a copy of your resume to the interview so that we can have a hardcopy for our files. You should also bring a recent copy of your credit report, if you do not have a report or it is older than 3 months you can request a free report from http://www.seemycreditscore.com/freeservices/ which takes less than 3 minutes and has no cost to you.
>
> I look forward to hearing back from you, please confirm your desired interview time and a phone number I can reach you at.
>
> Regards,
>
> Sara Russell
>
> Bravework Staffing Agency
> “Successfully connecting workers and employers for 11 years.”

18 thoughts on “Photography Job Scam on Craigslist!!!

  1. foreveradog January 31, 2010 / 3:24 am

    Very good well informed ty you for the information. From the guys at Bloggles

  2. Jimi January 31, 2010 / 11:25 am

    Your complaint actually saved me. I knew something wasnt right when I went to the actual website and saw that there was no where to apply for jobs or anything. I reporrted this fake company to the Federal Trade Commission this monring.

    • Sonja Corliss February 2, 2010 / 4:59 am

      NO problem, I only hope you will tell everyone you know, and hopefully we can decrease the amount of ID theft these people are getting!

    • cjunk February 24, 2010 / 4:48 am

      thank you Sonja, you saved me too! For others too see, here was my response recieved, it’s a little different. Had i not remembered that i actually NEVER SENT A RESUME, but had decided against it, i would have been so excited and filled out the information. Good thing i listen to my husband and watch and think before reacting on the internet.
      ~~~~~~~~~~~~~
      Dear Carrie,

      Thank you for applying for the Job Opening posted on Craigs List in Customer Services section. I am sorry you had to wait so long after your application for us to respond back but it usually takes us some time to go through all the applications and the resumes and focus on the ones that match our requirements.

      I am happy to inform you that your resume or initial details have been reviewed positively and I have escalated your application to the level of Manager (H.R.) who will deal with the progressive stages towards the recruitment.

      We at BG Marketer Research have always believed that an employee who is well rewarded and motivated is the key to our growth oriented company, and for that reason our employees enjoy a competitive payment structure, health packages and additional key benefits to be discussed at interview stage.

      Your Job Profile , Responsibilities and Remunerations would also be discussed once you cross the preliminary ID scrutiny and Skill set matching with the Job profile. Please note that you may also be eligible for Preliminary skill up gradation training, which would be provided to you free of charges as per our HR policy.

      As part of our mandatory Identity check on all potential employees who have reached this stage, we require all applicants to complete a security / credit check to verify your credentials.

      Please note: Your credit rating ( Part of the Identity Check ) itself is not at all relevant to us in any way, however a full credit check allows us to verify accurately, legal US citizenship, employment history, social security references and a verifiable confirmation of address.

      To get your Identity verified we suggest using this provider or any another similar trusted company. I believe they offer a No Charges trial;
      http://creditsecurityreporting.com/

      IMPORTANT: Please DO NOT under ANY circumstances email us your credit report as it contains privileged confidential information that is purely for your own benefit.

      You would only need to provide some non confidential data from the report to verify your credentials on being contacted by HR.
      Please be ready with your Identity report, you would be receiving the next instructions soon,

      Once again, we thank you for your interest in the position; we will be in further contact shortly.

      Yours faithfully,

      Jasmine Goode
      HR Assistant Manager
      B G Market Research Inc.
      Data systems! Corporate Management! Data Security! Verifiable Research! Data Integration! Market Analysis!

  3. Kelly February 3, 2010 / 6:56 am

    hey sonja i wanted to let you also know that this person has changed her name to abbi jordan and is now looking for a porter position up in the city of eugene oregon. thanks for the tip.

  4. vinny g February 3, 2010 / 6:19 pm

    thanks for posting your experiances for me to see. I also recieved an email from Brave Work Staffing and looked up their website and found this blog but nothing else no web page. But the message went like this: Hello Vinny,

    I hope you are doing well this afternoon, and I would like to thank you for your application to this job opening.

    I am reviewing potential applicants and scheduling interviews for later this week & early next week.

    Would you care to tell me a little bit about yourself, your hobbies, educational background, and any previous related experience if applicable?

    Lastly, if you had to choose 3 words which best describe yourself, what would they be?

    Regards,
    Abbie Jordan

    Bravework Staffing Agency
    BraveWorkStaffing.com – (800) 381-7973
    “Successfully connecting workers and employers for 11 years.” So you can see very simular to
    your experiances. Thank you, Vinny

  5. Ms. Daniel February 4, 2010 / 1:38 pm

    You’re so right….I just got an email from that chick yesterday through craigslist….note to ALL if ANY employer sends you an e-mail requesting your credit score its a scam. The end!!

  6. Mr C February 4, 2010 / 7:59 pm

    I got the same email reply from our good friend “abbie”. I sent her a little “thank you” note id like to share:
    HI
    Thank you for the reply. Apparently the resume that listed ALL of my related work experience was too hard to understand. A little about myself, well I hate fake job postings and trying to get scammed. My educational backgound is obviously high enough to know when something is too good to be true it usually is. As far as three words to describe me, hmmmmm, how about
    GO F*** YOURSELF!

    Im sure nothing will come of it, but it felt good..lol

  7. Melissa February 4, 2010 / 8:45 pm

    THANK YOU for your information! I just got an email back word for word like the email posted above, from Abbie Jordan.
    I knew something was weird when:
    1. she wouldn’t answer my personal questions about the LOCATION and time of the job.
    2. a credit report? Really? Who asks for a credit report for a job???

    This is in Frederick, MD from craigslist.

  8. Mr.Creque February 5, 2010 / 5:32 am

    I just recieved this same email from Abbie Jordan. This was for an Electronic Assembler in Hampton Roads Virginia.

    I hope you are doing well this afternoon, and I would like to thank you for your application to this job opening.

    I am reviewing potential applicants and scheduling interviews for later this week & early next week.

    Would you care to tell me a little bit about yourself, your hobbies, educational background, and any previous related experience if applicable?

    Lastly, if you had to choose 3 words which best describe yourself, what would they be?

    Regards,
    Abbie Jordan

    Bravework Staffing Agency
    BraveWorkStaffing.com – (800) 381-7973
    “Successfully connecting workers and employers for 11 years.”

  9. Rocky February 5, 2010 / 1:04 pm

    I replied to a Craigslist job for a Electrical Assembler position. Abbie Jordan wanted a credit report. I guessed
    right, SCAM!!!

  10. Mandy K February 6, 2010 / 2:43 am

    Yep, got the same spam letter today. I can’t believe in times like this when jobs are sparce there are people looking to take advantage of you. I reported this company as well. It really takes a low person to attempt to take advantage of a person struggling to make ends meet and looking for employment.

  11. som February 6, 2010 / 4:27 pm

    yeah! i got exact same email from this girl goes by the name abbie jordan.i apply for forklift driver position,she asking for credit report then i noticed right away that it was a scam.that why she call her company bravework staffing.she is so brave trying to trick people,i hope they catch her .

  12. Mike P February 6, 2010 / 10:15 pm

    If any of you have the saved emails from Sara/Abbi, please email me and I can add them to an FBI case file through the internet crimes unit. This is a form of identity theft and it needs to be stopped NOW.

    Let’s work together and take the B*tch down

    Mike

    • Maggie February 6, 2010 / 11:33 pm

      Hello Maggie,

      I hope you are doing well this afternoon, and I would like to thank you for your application to this job opening.

      I am reviewing potential applicants and scheduling interviews for later this week & early next week.

      Would you care to tell me a little bit about yourself, your hobbies, educational background, and any previous related experience if applicable?

      Lastly, if you had to choose 3 words which best describe yourself, what would they be?

      Regards,
      Abbie Jordan

      Bravework Staffing Agency
      BraveWorkStaffing.com – (800) 381-7973
      “Successfully connecting workers and employers for 11 years.”

      We need to get this BITCH!! F*** her

    • Kelley McGowan February 9, 2010 / 4:41 pm

      Hello Arlene,

      It is great to hear back from you so quickly, the promptness is greatly appreciated.

      Based on your responses and credentials I would like the opportunity to personally interview you later this week or early next week. I am available this upcoming week Wednesday to Friday from 9am to 4pm, and Monday to Wednesday of next week from 9am to 4pm, would any of these times work for you?

      I would like you to bring a copy of your resume to the interview so that we can have a hardcopy for our files. You should also bring a recent copy of your credit report, if you do not have a report or it is older than 3 months you can request a free report from NationalCreditReport.com which takes less than 3 minutes and has no cost to you.

      I look forward to hearing back from you, please confirm your desired interview time and a phone number I can reach you at.

      Regards,
      Abbie Jordan

      Bravework Staffing Agency
      BraveWorkStaffing.com – (800) 381-7973
      “Successfully connecting workers and employers for 11 years.”

  13. mart mosley February 8, 2010 / 5:57 pm

    thanx for the insight.i hate wasting my time with bogus offers. it appears to be the thing to do these days.people looking for work to pay there bills and getting scammed should be punishable by verry strict laws.but until that happens if it does we all have to watch each others backs. thanx again for the info.

Leave a Reply

