Photograph Colors


I take a lot of pictures. Most of the pictures I shoot involve a lot of color, i.e. flowers, landscapes, animals; however it seems that the photos I see online are more vibrant. For instance, this frog photo is so colorful and the colors just jump right off the photograph. Since I am from New Hampshire, I have shot many photos of the leaves changing colors in autumn.

My question is: How do people get these colors to jump off the page? I am assuming a computer program is involved, because there is so much you can do with computer graphics. If there is a way to enhance these beautiful colors with just the camera or the lens?  I would love to know. I will accept any feedback or advice.

One thought on “Photograph Colors

  1. Rob Ponte November 8, 2007 / 11:24 pm

    Turn up the contrast maybe? But not too much or it just looks fake.

    Or only shoot at sunset, or when its nice and humid.

    Also a big ol’ SLR lens seems to help. The colors on my sony are crappy compared to the SLRs they gave us.

Leave a Reply

