A Happy Medium Would Be Nice


In case my recent posts were not enough, I am an animal lover. I do not believe in harming animals for self-enjoyment or money, and I think it is wrong for people to own pets who cannot care for them. I would like to help the Humane Societies of the United States, but I get the weird feeling that I am not welcome to have my beliefs and not others.

After reading Wayne Pacelle’s blog, (specifically the “Personal Behavior” section of the list of things to do for people who want to help the HSUS), I am lead to believe that there can only be animal rights activists or the enemy. I love animals and all, but I do not want to be a vegetarian just to save the pigs and cows. Nor do I want to make other countries stop eating goats just because I think they are cute. Eliminating a food source or food group is completely different from wanting to help abused or abandoned animals, in my opinion. I find it hard to believe that I am the only one with this thought process. However after reading this, I feel like maybe voices similar to mine are being either misunderstood or muffled. I wish animal lovers like me could find a happy medium. I think that if people with my type of beliefs were to organize, we could generate our own thoughts and turn them into actions in our own way.

Leave a Reply

