Mini Bulldogs?


I rebooted the whole system on my PC this weekend. Naturally, I needed to find an English Bulldog picture to set as my background. Much to my surprise many of my image results were of “Miniature English Bulldogs“. This made me wonder, what this world was coming to? I realize that there have been many dogs rebred to be mini; however, most of those dogs were rather large to begin with. English Bulldogs usually never grow to be more than about one foot in height or weigh more than about 50 pounds. To me, this is not a big enough dog to be making “mini” breeds of. I apparently, had seen plenty of pictures before, but I thought they were puppy pictures. Maybe I am biased because this dog happens to be my favorite breed. Wow, I just learned that Chihuahuas have also been downsized. The world has now bred mini Chihuahuas, also known as “teacup” sized. How ridiculous can this get? Dogs are supposed to have a purpose in life, not to just sit and shiver because it does not have enough body mass to even keep itself warm. This saddens me a little. Hopefully I can still find a normal sized dog by the time I get old enough to buy one.

8 thoughts on “Mini Bulldogs?

  1. Sandra Hernandez September 17, 2007 / 11:20 pm

    This is so true. It is like technology, it seems that people think that the smaller the better…. How much smaller can a chihuahua get?

  2. thomasc8 September 18, 2007 / 7:37 pm

    I’d be interested in seeing the actual effects of “miniaturizing.” And what exactly does that entail? We can’t be going around pulling a “honey I shrunk the dog” and zapping dogs with laser beams…

  3. forwardglance September 18, 2007 / 11:29 pm

    Why is it that our society (as technology progresses) keeps putting the idea that the smaller the better? Those poor chihuahuas I thought they were already too tiny….

  4. a person May 24, 2008 / 8:04 pm

    i love chihuahuas and i see the cutest pictures of them but mine is so visios they make it seem like these little animals seem so sweet and nice

  5. beba September 25, 2008 / 12:10 am

    i think miniture dogs are sooo cute!!!! i also think that big dog are adorable!!! the bulldogs are soooo cute!!! i dissagree very much with all of you!!! i have a chihuahua and it is the nicest thing ive ever met!!!

  6. AJ Jackson January 25, 2009 / 6:12 pm

    Well, I have a Old English Bulldog and his name is Tank and hes almost 2 feet tall and weighs more than 70 pds with no fat. I love bulldogs and yes its a little sad about mini bulldogs and i plan on getting one, but you cant undo whats already been done so if you love bulldogs you should love Miniture Bulldogs. Because there so cute.

  7. another person January 27, 2009 / 5:40 pm

    Wow…im really late here…but they actually started breeding them (mini english bulldogs) in the 80s. It was to improve the health of the animal, since many have breathing problems and trouble birthing children. By making them an average of 10 pounds smaller in size, they virtually eliminated the breathing problems, made birthing naturally somewhat possible, and extended the life expectancy of the breed by an average of 4 years. Maybe you should do more research of why they did it before you complain about it…especially since you love the breed.

  8. shayla May 8, 2009 / 11:41 pm

    hey whats up great site

Leave a Reply

